The Aspire Group’s Dr. Bernie Mullin Shortlisted as Finalist in Stadium Business Awards 2011

June 6, 2011

Share This:

ATLANTA – (June 6, 2011) -The nominations for the 2011 Stadium Business Awards have been announced and The Aspire Group Chairman and CEO Bernie Mullin has been shortlisted as a finalist in the Outstanding Achievement category.

As the only awards to recognize achievements in the global stadium industry, all business and operating aspects are covered, from individual staff to venue of the year, from architecture to sustainability. Winners will be announced at the gala dinner during the Stadium Business Summit at FC Barcelona’s Camp Nou stadium in Barcelona, Spain on the 15th June.

“The awards are designed to acknowledge the leaders, achievers and innovators within our industry and this year’s nominations reflect the impressive array of developments in the stadium, arena and sports venue sector,” commented Ian Nuttall, founder of The Stadium Business awards. “This year sees several new categories join the line up including recognition for work in local communities and success in sponsorship and sales.”

“I am truly honored to have the Aspire Group recognized by the Stadium Business Awards alongside so many other outstanding individuals and organizations,” said Bernie Mullin, Chairman and CEO of The Aspire Group. “Developing the future sports business leaders is what we at Aspire love to do. This nomination is recognition of the commitment and contributions of each and every Aspire team member – which makes it even more significant.”

One of the members of the judging panel considering the shortlist, Chris Overholt, COO of the Canadian Olympic Committee said: “This year’s shortlist demonstrates the vast breadth and depth of expertise which combines to create an unforgettable experience for spectators. With categories including Executive of the Year to Unsung Hero and Team Player, the awards ensure that the people behind the scenes are awarded credit too.”

Hundreds of nominations from around the world were narrowed down to a shortlist, to be judged by an independent panel of industry experts, including:

  • Alexander V. Atamanenko, CEO, Donbass Arena, Ukraine
  • Michael Bolingbroke, COO, Manchester United FC, UK
  • Simon Clegg CBE, Chief Executive, Ipswich Town FC, UK
  • Ninna Engberg, Managing Director, Stockholm Globe Arenas, Sweden
  • David Manica, President, MANICA Architecture, USA
  • Peter McKenna, Stadium Director, Croke Park, Ireland
  • Patrik Meyer, Managing Director, Commerzbank Arena, Germany
  • Chris Overholt, COO, Canadian Olympic Committee, Canada


About the Stadium Business Awards 2011

Now in their second year, the Stadium Business Awards were created as a platform to showcase innovation, professionalism and best practice within the stadium industry. The inaugural awards ceremony took place during the Stadium Business Summit 2010 at the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin, in front of an audience of stadium industry professionals from around the globe. The awards are organized by Xperiology, creators of the Stadium Business Summit conference and suppliers of stadium management training, consultancy and advisory services to the sports and entertainment sector.

For more information please visit: and

Leave a comment